Search

Information


School of Mathematics, Science and Engineering

SMSE Faculty and Staff Directory

Home  >  School of Mathematics, Science and Engineering  >  SMSE Faculty and Staff Directory

BiologyChemistryEngineeringEnvironmental ScienceMathematicsMeteorologyNutrition Physics

Biology

 

 

McCormick

Bonnie McCormick
 
Title: Professor and Department Chair
 tallarovic

 

Sara Tallarovic

Title: Associate Professor and Assistant Department Chair
E-mail: tallarov@uiwtx.edu
  • More Information
    Office: AT&T 118
    Number: 210-283-5036
    Lab: AT&T 200
    Lab Number: 210-832-2109
 foglesong

 

Paul David Foglesong
 
Title: Professor
E-mail: davidf@uiwtx.edu
  • More Information
    Office:AT&T 312
    Number: 210-283-5033
    Lab: AT&T 334
    Lab Number: 210-805-1229
 herlihy

 

Barbara Lillian Herlihy

Title: Professor
mackinnon

Christy MacKinnon

Title: Professor
E-mail: mackinno@uiwtx.edu

 

 acosta

 

Veronica G. Martinez Acosta

Title: Associate Professor
E-mail: vgmartin@uiwtx.edu
 mcpherson
 
Benjamin McPherson
 
Title: Instructor
E-mail: mcpherso@uiwtx.edu
 
Marieke Burleson
 
Title: Visiting Assistant Professor
peigler
Richard Peigler
 
Title: Professor
E-mail: peigler@uiwtx.edu
Chris Pierce
Christopher Pierce
 
Title: Assistant Professor
 raymond

 

Russell Raymond

Title: Associate Professor
E-mail: raymond@uiwtx.edu
 Dr. David Starkey
 
David Starkey
 
Title: Assistant Professor
 vallor
 
Ana Vallor
 
Title: Assistant Professor

top of page

Chemistry

 

adrian

Dr. Rafael Adrian
Title: Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry 
E-mail: adrian@uiwtx.edu
 Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri

 

Dr. Alaka Chaudhuri
Title: Professor, Analytical Chemistry
E-mail: alakanan@uiwtx.edu

 Dr. Rachell Booth - Biochemistry

 

Dr. Rachell Booth
Title: Associate Professor, Biochemistry
E-mail: rbooth@uiwtx.edu

 davis

 

Dr. Julian Davis
Title: Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry
E-mail: judavis@uiwtx.edu                                                                 

 garner

 

Dr. Robert Garner
Title: Assistant Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
E-mail: rgarner@uiwtx.edu

gonzalez

Dr. Edward Gonzalez
Title: Associate Professor, Biochemistry
E-mail: gonzalee@uiwtx.edu

 kong

 

Dr. S. Bin Kong                                                                                       Department Chair
Title: Professor, Organic Chemistry
E-mail: kong@uiwtx.edu

leverett

Dr. Betsy Leverett
Title: Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
E-mail: leverett@uiwtx.edu

 mcburnett

 

Dr. Brian McBurnett

Title: Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
E-mail: mcburnet@uiwtx.edu

 stankus

 

Dr. John Stankus
Title: Associate Professor, Physical Chemistry
E-mail: stankus@uiwtx.edu

 

top of page

Engineering

 

 

awhittemorephoto

Dr. Alison Whittemore (Department Chair)

whittemo@uiwtx.edu

arjona

 

Dr. Javier Arjona-Baez

arjonaba@uiwtx.edu

 fry

 

Dr. Michael Frye

mfrye@uiwtx.edu

 Dr. Caglayan

 

Dr.Okan Caglayan

caglayan@uiwtx.edu

 dpotter

 

Mr. Daniel Potter

UIW Sustainability Office Operations Manager

dpotter@uiwtx.edu

Dr. Sree Ande

Dr. Sreedevi Ande

Associate Professor of Engineering

ande@uiwtx.edu



top of page

Environmental Science

 

Biology, Chemistry, Geology, and Physics faculty are members of the Environmental Science program who contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach toward planning, assessment, and management of our natural resources. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of our environment.

 

Maguigan Faculty Pic

Dr. Mike Maguigan

Assistant Professor
maguigan@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    Ph.D. Earth and Atmospheric Science, Mississippi State University

    M.A. Geography, University of Arkansas

    B.A. Geography, Virginia Tech

     

    Research Interests

     Dr. Maguigan's research interests lie mainly in complex physical interactions among soil, water, and vegetation, especially in mountain environments. Specifically, he is interested in natural hazards like landslides and system interactions that promote growth in wetland environments. In San Antonio, Dr. Maguigan is interested in the San Antonio River, especially in terms of water quality and land use surrounding the river.

 

Dr. William F. Thomann, Professor Emeritus

Rider College

Bryn Mawr College

University of Texas at El Paso

Research Interests

Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology, Environmental Geology, Ground Water Geology

 

 

(updated as of 12/17/2016)

top of page

Mathematics


Beltrami

Dr. Joleen Beltrami
Department Chair and Associate Professor
beltrami@uiwtx.edu 

 

Dr. Jake Hammons
Assistant Professor
@uiwtx.edu 
 Dr. Ku
Dr. Wah-Kwan Ku
Assistant Professor
ku@uiwtx.edu
 Martines
 
Dr. Theresa N. Martines
Assistant Professor
Schedule
martines@uiwtx.edu
 McCarron
 
Dr. Craig S. McCarron
Associate Professor
Schedule
mccarron@uiwtx.edu
Messina
Dr. Paul F. Messina
Associate Professor
messina@uiwtx.edu
      Niemeyer
Dr. Robert Niemeyer
Assistant Professor
rniemeye@uiwtx.edu
  
Rakowitz

 

Amanda Rakowitz
Instructor
arakowi1@uiwtx.edu
 Dr. Scott Smith
 
Dr. Scott Smith
Assistant Professor
sesmith@uiwtx.edu
Tek
Dr. Suleyman Tek
Associate Professor
Schedule
tek@uiwtx.edu
 Garcia-Wukovitz
Dr. Flor Garcia-Wukovits
Associate Professor
fwukovit@uiwtx.edu
Yang
 
Dr. Zhanbo Yang
Professor
Assistant Dean of SMSE
yang@uiwtx.edu
 Zhou
 
Dr. Haoxuan Zhou
Professor
zhou@uiwtx.edu

top of page

Meteorology

 

Meteorology faculty contribute their teaching and research expertise to provide students a comprehensive, broad-based science education. The faculty furnishes the student the tools and skills to apply an interdisciplinary approach theory and applications in Meteorology and Broadcast Meteorology. Students gain an appreciation of the need for cooperative efforts across science disciplines and the need to integrate their knowledge to study and understand the complex nature of Earth's atmosphere. 

 

mulvey

Gerald J. Mulvey

Assistant Professor
mulvey@uiwtx.edu

210-805-3099

  • More Information

    Ph.D.  in Atmospheric Science, Colorado State University

    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, State University of New York at Albany

    B.S. in Physics, York College;

    American Meteorological Society Certified Consulting Meteorologist

    Dr. Mulvey’s research interests are in applied cloud and precipitation physics, applied climatology, weather forecasting, and historical weather reconstruction.  He is current interests are rain erosion of adobe brick and soils, precipitation and stream flow measurement, and aviation meteorology.

 

Tim Springer Photo

Timothy Springer

Lecturer
tspringe@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    M.S. in Atmospheric Science, University of California, Los Angeles

    B.S.  in Aeronautics, Miami University, Oxford Ohio

faculty george

George Frederick

Lecturer
gfrederi@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S. in Engineering Science –U.S. Air Force Academy

    M.S. in Meteorology, University of Wisconsin

    Certified Consulting Meteorologist

 

Kristina De Leon Picture

Kristina DeLeon

 

  • More Information

    Kristina De Leon is the morning reporter on News 4 San Antonio Today. A true South Texas native, Kristina De Leon was born in San Antonio. After graduating from MacArthur High School, she earned a Masters degree in Communication and double majored in Psychology and Sociology from the University Of The Incarnate Word.   Kristina spent nearly five years as the morning show anchor/reporter for KIII-TV in Corpus Christi, Texas. During that period, she stood on the front lines of three major hurricanes.   Before moving back home to San Antonio, Kristina spent a year in the Valley at KGBT-TV as a reporter, producer, and anchor. 

 

(Last update: 11/02/2016)

top of page

Nutrition

 

neeta singh

Neeta Singh
Associate Professor
singh@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information
     

    B.S. (Sukhadia University, India),
    M.S.  (Rajasthan Agricultural University, India),
    Ph.D. (Oregon State University)

 

Joseph C. Bonilla
Associate Professor
josephb@uiwtx.edu

  • More Information

    B.S. (Case Western Reserve University),            
    M.S. (Texas Tech University),  
    Ph.D. (Texas Tech University)

Senne-Duff

Beth C. Senne-Duff
Associate Professor
beths@uiwtx.edu

 
  • More Information
     

    B.S. (Colorado State University),
    M.S. (University of Minnesota),
    Ph.D. (Colorado State University)

top of page

Physics

 

cardena


Dr. Rosa E. Cardenas

 recarde1@uiwtx.edu

 

nair


Dr. Sreerenjini Nair

srnair@uiwtx.edu
 

 

 

top of page